Classics Matinee Blue

Symphony Hall : Sun 10/14/18 2:00PM - Sun 5/26/19 2:00PM

View All Packages

Tchaikovsky’s Fourth and Rachel Barton Pine Sunday, October 14, 2018 2:00PM   ·   More Info »
Tchaikovsky’s Fourth and Rachel Barton Pine

Tito Muñoz, conductor
Rachel Barton Pine, violin

Gabriel Kahane: Nocturama
Paganini: Violin Concerto No. 1
Tchaikovsky: Symphony No. 4, Op. 36

Highlighted by Rachel Barton Pine’s commanding performance of Paganini's first Violin Concerto, experience this powerhouse program presented by The Phoenix Symphony led by Maestro Muñoz. This program continues our dedication to young American composers by opening with Gabriel Kahane’s Nocturama, and concludes with Tchaikovsky’s Fourth Symphony; an urgent and supercharged reflection on his internal struggles.

A Mozart Celebration Sunday, January 6, 2019 2:00PM   ·   More Info »
A Mozart Celebration

Tito Muñoz, conductor
Alexander Laing, clarinet

Mozart: Overture to Don Giovanni, K. 527
Mozart: Clarinet Concerto, K. 622
Mozart: Symphony No. 41 “Jupiter” K. 551

Phoenix Symphony Principal Clarinetist Alex Laing commands the stage in this all-Mozart concert featuring the composer’s luminary Clarinet Concerto. The concerto is bookended with Mozart’s masterful Overture to Don Giovanni and the exuberant “Jupiter,” his forty-first and final Symphony.

Romeo & Juliet and Porgy & Bess Saturday, April 20, 2019 2:00PM   ·   More Info »
<em>Romeo & Juliet</em> and <em>Porgy & Bess</em>

Carl St. Clair, conductor
Kevin Deas, vocalist
Angela Brown, vocalist
Pilgrim Rest Choir

Prokofiev: Selections from Romeo & Juliet Suites 1 and 2
Gershwin: Porgy & Bess: A Symphonic Picture arr. Bennet

The orchestra is an integral piece of both the operatic and balletic art forms, and The Phoenix Symphony offers unique insight into that brilliance through the juxtaposition of suites from George Gershwin and Sergei Prokofiev. Prokofiev’s popular and intriguing suite to Romeo & Juliet fuse with Gershwin’s Porgy & Bess Suite to create an evening of sweeping emotion and dramatic elegance showcasing the towering Montagues and Capulets and the beloved classic “Summertime,” featuring the acclaimed Pilgrim Rest Choir alongside the orchestra.

The Planets: An HD Odyssey Sunday, May 26, 2019 2:00PM   ·   More Info »
<em>The Planets</em>: An HD Odyssey

Tito Muñoz, conductor
Planets HD Odyssey

Elgar: Elegy, Op. 58
Michael Hersch: end stages
Holst: The Planets – An HD Odyssey

As our 2018/19 Classics series ends, embark on an expansive voyage through the Solar System with The Planets: An HD Odyssey. Propelled by Holst’s masterwork The Planets, this bracing multimedia experience explores the astrological and emotional influences of our sister planets through this large-scale orchestral suite as stunning NASA and Hubble image are projected above the orchestra. Sir Edward Elgar’s serene and dreamlike Elegy for Strings opens the program, while Michael Hersch’s tragic, personal, and deeply compelling end stages, accompanied by the artwork that inspired the composer, presents an interdisciplinary exploration of mortality to close the program.

Pricing Details Subscription Half  
Loge N/A
Sold Out!
Prime Dress Main Floor Front $298.00
Prime Dress Main Floor Rear $298.00
Prime Dress Balcony $298.00
Dress Circle Main Floor Front $240.00
Dress Circle Main Floor Rear $240.00
Dress Circle Balcony $240.00
Price A Main Floor Front $189.00
Price A Main Floor Rear $189.00
Price A Balcony $189.00
Price B Main Floor Front $144.00
Price B Main Floor Rear $144.00
Price B Balcony $144.00
Price C Main Floor Front $106.00
Price C Main Floor Rear $106.00
Price C-Balcony $106.00
Price D-Main Floor Rear $80.00
Price D-Balcony $80.00
# of Subscription Half Tickets:    

If you have questions about your order please contact Patron Services at 602-495-1999.

Subscription Notes: Please indicate seating preferences. If your request cannot be accommodated, a member of our Patron Services team will contact you. Seating is done on a first come, first served basis.