Classics Matinee Full

Symphony Hall : Sun 9/16/18 2:00PM - Sun 5/26/19 2:00PM

View All Packages

Opening Night: Beethoven’s Symphony No. 9 Sunday, September 16, 2018 2:00PM   ·   More Info »
Opening Night: Beethoven’s Symphony No. 9

Tito Muñoz, conductor
Paul Jacobs, organ
Julie Adams, soprano
Allegra De Vita, mezzo-soprano
Garrett Sorenson, tenor
Anthony Clark Evans, baritone
The Phoenix Symphony Chorus

Julia Perry: Short Piece for Orchestra
Barber: Toccata Festiva
Beethoven: Symphony No. 9, Op. 125

Beethoven’s big, bold, and joyous Ninth Symphony looms large over nearly two hundred and fifty years of composing. Be there as Tito Muñoz kicks off his fifth season as The Phoenix Symphony’s Virginia G. Piper Music Director by performing the Ninth with its triumphant “Ode to Joy” alongside the Symphony, The Phoenix Symphony Chorus and world-class vocalists.

The program also includes the return of Grammy winning organist Paul Jacobs in Barber's dazzling Toccata Festiva.

Tchaikovsky’s Fourth and Rachel Barton Pine Sunday, October 14, 2018 2:00PM   ·   More Info »
Tchaikovsky’s Fourth and Rachel Barton Pine

Tito Muñoz, conductor
Rachel Barton Pine, violin

Gabriel Kahane: Nocturama
Paganini: Violin Concerto No. 1
Tchaikovsky: Symphony No. 4, Op. 36

Highlighted by Rachel Barton Pine’s commanding performance of Paganini's first Violin Concerto, experience this powerhouse program presented by The Phoenix Symphony led by Maestro Muñoz. This program continues our dedication to young American composers by opening with Gabriel Kahane’s Nocturama, and concludes with Tchaikovsky’s Fourth Symphony; an urgent and supercharged reflection on his internal struggles.

Dvorák’s New World Symphony, No. 9 Sunday, November 18, 2018 2:00PM   ·   More Info »
Dvorák’s New World Symphony, No. 9

Tito Muñoz, conductor
Jeremy Denk, piano

Timo Andres: Everything Happens So Much
Mozart: Piano Concerto No.12, K. 414
Dvorak: Symphony No. 9 “From the New World” Op. 95

Antonin Dvorák came to the United States with a “simple” directive: Develop a distinctly American style of composition. Through his travels, attempts, and those he met along the way, Dvorák eventually developed his Ninth Symphony, “From the New World.” The well-known theme of the second movement, now titled “Goin’ Home,” creates an intimate portrait of place and home unrivaled in orchestral repertoire. The program begins with Timo Andres’ thought-provoking Everything Happens So Much and features Mozart’s Twelfth Piano Concerto, full of lyricism and serenity, performed by acclaimed pianist Jeremy Denk.

A Mozart Celebration Sunday, January 6, 2019 2:00PM   ·   More Info »
A Mozart Celebration

Tito Muñoz, conductor
Alexander Laing, clarinet

Mozart: Overture to Don Giovanni, K. 527
Mozart: Clarinet Concerto, K. 622
Mozart: Symphony No. 41 “Jupiter” K. 551

Phoenix Symphony Principal Clarinetist Alex Laing commands the stage in this all-Mozart concert featuring the composer’s luminary Clarinet Concerto. The concerto is bookended with Mozart’s masterful Overture to Don Giovanni and the exuberant “Jupiter,” his forty-first and final Symphony.

Beethoven Piano Concerto No. 1 Sunday, March 10, 2019 2:00PM   ·   More Info »
Beethoven Piano Concerto No. 1

Tito Muñoz, conductor
Stephen Hough, piano

Beethoven: Piano Concerto No.1, Op. 15
Richard Strauss: Ein Heldenleben (A Hero’s Life), Op. 40

World-renowned pianist Stephen Hough makes his Phoenix Symphony debut performing Beethoven’s First Piano Concerto, with its energetic and charming themes. Muñoz opens the program with Richard Strauss’ self-portrait, Ein Heldenleben (A Hero’s Life); an egotistical but moving musical journey of life, love, and contentment.

Stravinksy, Gershwin and Glass Sunday, March 24, 2019 2:00PM   ·   More Info »
Stravinksy, Gershwin and Glass

Tito Muñoz, conductor
Amy Dickson, saxophone

Anna Clyne: Within Her Arms
Glass: Violin Concerto No. 1, arr. Dickson
Stravinsky: Symphony in Three Movements
Gershwin: American in Paris

George Gershwin’s American in Paris is a perfect distillation of the American experience abroad. Maestro Tito Muñoz leads the Symphony in this masterwork alongside Stravinsky’s Symphony in Three Movements, a Russian expat’s symphonic contemplation of the American experience. The program continues our dedication to young American composers with Anna Clyne’s Within Her Arms, a touching tribute to her mother. Acclaimed saxophonist Amy Dickson returns to join the symphony to perform Philip Glass’ mesmerizing and hypnotic Violin Concerto.

Romeo & Juliet and Porgy & Bess Saturday, April 20, 2019 2:00PM   ·   More Info »
<em>Romeo & Juliet</em> and <em>Porgy & Bess</em>

Carl St. Clair, conductor
Kevin Deas, vocalist
Angela Brown, vocalist
Pilgrim Rest Choir

Prokofiev: Selections from Romeo & Juliet Suites 1 and 2
Gershwin: Porgy & Bess: A Symphonic Picture arr. Bennet

The orchestra is an integral piece of both the operatic and balletic art forms, and The Phoenix Symphony offers unique insight into that brilliance through the juxtaposition of suites from George Gershwin and Sergei Prokofiev. Prokofiev’s popular and intriguing suite to Romeo & Juliet fuse with Gershwin’s Porgy & Bess Suite to create an evening of sweeping emotion and dramatic elegance showcasing the towering Montagues and Capulets and the beloved classic “Summertime,” featuring the acclaimed Pilgrim Rest Choir alongside the orchestra.

Mozart and Brahms Sunday, May 12, 2019 2:00PM   ·   More Info »
Mozart and Brahms

Michael Francis, conductor
The Phoenix Symphony Chorus

Mozart: Mass in C Major "Trinity", K. 167
Brahms: Symphony No.3, Op. 90

Mozart's strikingly instrumental "Trinity" Mass brings the orchestra into the foreground with a lively and colorful work featuring The Phoenix Symphony Chorus. The piece is paired with Brahms’ Third Symphony, a dramatic struggle between major and minor. Compared to Brahms’ previous symphonies, his Third Symphony is considered the most artistically perfect.

The Planets: An HD Odyssey Sunday, May 26, 2019 2:00PM   ·   More Info »
<em>The Planets</em>: An HD Odyssey

Tito Muñoz, conductor
Planets HD Odyssey

Elgar: Elegy, Op. 58
Michael Hersch: end stages
Holst: The Planets – An HD Odyssey

As our 2018/19 Classics series ends, embark on an expansive voyage through the Solar System with The Planets: An HD Odyssey. Propelled by Holst’s masterwork The Planets, this bracing multimedia experience explores the astrological and emotional influences of our sister planets through this large-scale orchestral suite as stunning NASA and Hubble image are projected above the orchestra. Sir Edward Elgar’s serene and dreamlike Elegy for Strings opens the program, while Michael Hersch’s tragic, personal, and deeply compelling end stages, accompanied by the artwork that inspired the composer, presents an interdisciplinary exploration of mortality to close the program.

Pricing Details Subscription Full  
Loge N/A
Sold Out!
Prime Dress Main Floor Front $670.50
Prime Dress Main Floor Rear $670.50
Prime Dress Balcony $670.50
Dress Circle Main Floor Front $540.00
Dress Circle Main Floor Rear $540.00
Dress Circle Balcony $540.00
Price A Main Floor Front $425.25
Price A Main Floor Rear $425.25
Price A Balcony $425.25
Price B Main Floor Front $324.00
Price B Main Floor Rear $324.00
Price B Balcony $324.00
Price C Main Floor Front $238.50
Price C Main Floor Rear $238.50
Price C-Balcony $238.50
Price D-Main Floor Rear $180.00
Price D-Balcony $180.00
# of Subscription Full Tickets:    

If you have questions about your order please contact Patron Services at 602-495-1999.

Subscription Notes: Please indicate seating preferences. If your request cannot be accommodated, a member of our Patron Services team will contact you. Seating is done on a first come, first served basis.