Prokofiev's Piano Concerto No. 2

Friday, January 9, 2015 7:30PM

Prokofiev's Piano Concerto No. 2
Presale through May 3, 2016

James Feddeck, conductor
Vadym Kholodenko, piano (Van Cliburn Gold Medalist)

Shostakovich: Festive Overture, Op. 96
Prokofiev: Piano Concerto No. 2 in G minor for Piano and Orchestra, Op. 16
Brahms: Symphony No. 3 in F Major, Op. 90

The Phoenix Symphony is honored to welcome 2013 Van Cliburn Gold Medalist Vadym Kholodenko to the 2014/15 season and his Phoenix Symphony debut. Acclaimed for his “absorbing musical shadings” and artistic depth, Kholodenko delivers an unforgettable performance of Prokofiev’s grand and lyrical second piano concerto. This program also features Brahms’ impassioned and intense Symphony No. 3 in F Major, considered his most nearly perfect artistic creation.