Michael Christie Conducts Saint-Saëns' Organ Symphony

Thursday, March 21, 2013 7:30PM
Symphony Hall

Michael Christie Conducts Saint-Saëns' Organ Symphony
Presale through May 3, 2016

Michael Christie, conductor
Paul Jacobs, organ

Bach: Toccata and Fugue in D minor
Paulus: World Premiere Work for Organ and Orchestra
Saint-Saëns: Symphony No. 3 in C minor, (Organ Symphony)

Continuing the celebration of his final season, Virginia G. Piper Music Director Michael Christie conducts The Phoenix Symphony in an arrangement of one of the most famous works for organ, Bach’s Toccata and Fugue in D minor. Returning to Arizona, America’s most celebrated concert organist and Grammy Award-winner, Paul Jacobs, whom the New York Times christened “the young wizard,” will treat audiences with Saint-Saëns Symphony No. 3 written for orchestra and organ. And to punctuate an already momentous concert, Mr. Jacobs will premiere the world debut of a new work commissioned by The Phoenix Symphony and composed by one of today’s pre-eminent composers, Stephen Paulus.